Monthly Archives: February 2010

Facebook Groups And Toolbars

There is a facebook group that promises some special abilities but it’s actually a bit of a scam. The group is called:

NOW YOU CAN SEE EVERY 1 WHO VIEWS YOUR PROFILE

Apart from the annoying all-caps writing, the group suggests you install a toolbar to make this possible.

You should never install toolbars unless you completely trust the company who made it and really need it. In this case, Facebook didn’t make the toolbar. A stranger did. And you don’t really need it (and it doesn’t do what’s promised).

So do people fall for these things? I looked at this group in Facebook and 146,604 have joined it. That’s a lot of gullible people who don’t understand how Facebook’s privacy works.

There isn’t much information on what the toolbar actually does but it seems to spam your friends. Spamming is not nice (and possibly illegal in some places).

An Interview with a Nigerian Internet Scammer

The Nigerian scam goes by a few names and I’ve explained how it works before.

Here is an interview with someone who really scammed people using this technique. He explains how the scam operations work, how much work they put into building people’s trust and eventually take their money.

It’s an interesting read and it’s certainly a different way to learn about these scams and avoid them. It would be useful to show this interview to people who might be new to the internet. Then hopefully less people will fall victim to it.

The full interview is split into three parts:

Fake CUA Email

The following email is a phishing scam. It tries to trick people into handing over some account details. The usual trick for phishing scams is to make the email sound important, and there’s a link in the email to make it easier to get to the scammer’s web site.

The phishing email says:

Dear member:

We have recently updated our Online system to include new layer secure authentication. This is intended to provide you with the best security possible when accessing your account.
You will need to update your account in order to continue using your card.

CUA Update

Your ticket code is L690545X.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your patience and understanding.
Member ID 690545

The domain name they use is cua-members-australia (.com). After doing some simple research, CUA is a credit union in Australia. Their real address is www.cua.com.au so the one provided is obviously fake, even though it might sound real. Further research shows that the fake address was registered in USA (even though these details could also be fake).

Below is a screenshot of the phishing scam site:

cua

They get straight to business asking for a card number and a PIN. Very private information that no one should ask you.

Microsoft Does Not Send Updates By Email

Companies do not send updates by email, including Microsoft. They use other methods to tell their users about updates then expect users to download the updates themselves. Attachments in emails are generally bad.

So the following email I received is clearly an attempt to spread malware. It’s an email that claims to be from Microsoft – a quick look at the email’s header shows that it came from branchen4u.de. Not Microsoft.

So apart from the suspicious attachment and forged sender address, the other thing that tipped me off is that I don’t actually use Microsoft Outlook or Outlook Express.

Below is a copy of the infected email:

Brief Description
Microsoft has released an update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express. This update is critical and provides you with the latest version of the Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express and offers the highest levels of stability and security.

Instructions

* Install Update for Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express (KB910721). To do this, follow these steps:
1. Run attached file officexp-KB910721-FullFile-ENU.exe
2. Restart Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express

System Requirements

* Supported Operating Systems: Windows 2000; Windows 98; Windows ME; Windows NT; Windows Server 2003; Windows XP; Windows Vista

* This update applies to the following product: Microsoft Outlook / Outlook Express

There was a zip file attached that contains the Bredlab trojan. If the trojan were installed it runs quietly in the background downloading viruses and other malware.

So again, don’t trust unsolicited emails. I didn’t ask Microsoft to email me patches so this one was unsolicited. And it turns out it contained a trojan.

You should also have a good antivirus package installed.

Texaco Money Mule Scam

I’ve written about money mule scams before, here’s another one.

When a scammer has a large amount of money to move, such as stolen money they want transferred into their own bank, they don’t do it themselves. That would make them too easy to get caught.

What they sometimes do is ask other people to transfer the money. They tell these other people that it’s a legitimate job, and trick them into making these bank transactions.

They even go so far as to invent a company in order to recruit innocent people, or sometimes borrow the name of a legitimate company.

One such example is a job ad that claims to be from a US company called Texaco. The scammers sent a forged email with a link to a fake website, made to look like the read Texaco.

The scam email says:

Texaco/Chevron Downstream Europe
  1 Westferry Circus Canary Wharf
  London E14 4HA

Dear Job Candidate,

The TEXACO Online Employment System wish to inform you that your posted information onlinehas been carefully and confidentially reviewed by our Recruitment Team Professionals and we have considered under our current vacant opportunities within the Firm to employ you for work in our company.

TEXACO Online Employment System is affiliated to various job recruitment websites and your information was submitted to us by our online agent that submit job candidate resumes for consideration of employment depending on the vacancies we have in any branch of TEXACO Company Worldwide.

As regards to this, you have been automatically granted this employment to work in TEXACO Oil & Gas Field with a monthly salary of Eight Thousand
Five Hundred Pounds (£8,500).

Kindly acknowledge the content of this message by reconfirming your interest in working for us and indicating your area of job interest, ensuring that you
have quoted your vacancy title below or send your CV with a covering letter.

For further details relating to your employment, kindly send an email to
Texaco/Chevron Downstream Europe H/R Recruitment Service Department
texaco@post.com / http:// texaco.us.ms / http:// texaco.com/portal_default.asp/.

  Regards,
  Paul Matins
  HR Recruitment Manager

This email is a scam. The web site that they give ends with .us.ms – this is not the real Texaco’s domain name.

So the next time you see a job ad too good to be true, consider if it might be a money mule scam. Does the job ad promise to pay an unusually large rate? Is the work unusually easy? Is the job description vague? Is the web address correct? Did you receive the job ad in an unsolicited email? These are all questions you need to ask yourself.