Another Adwords Scam

I just received the following email. It’s a scam made to look like Google Adwords, however the web site was registered just a few hours ago to somebody else.

If you go to this site and enter your Google account details you’re actually letting a stranger (hacker) know your account details. It’s a scam.

———————————————
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
Message id:388520237785520
———————————————

Hello,

You have a new text alert from adwords

Please use the link below to login:

http://www.adwlordls.com/Selects/Login/static/index.html?ref=56105007342

Advertise your business on Google

Best regards, Google AdWords Customer Team © 2009

———————————————
This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does
not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message.
Message id:847914946168909
———————————————

So if you see this email or one like it, delete it. Google did not send this email.

Comments

2 Responses to “Another Adwords Scam”

  1. Blair on January 8th, 2010 10:08 am

    I just got one of these emails and stupidly, clicked the link and tried to log in because I wasn’t paying much attention. I realized right away I had been had and quickly changed my account password, but now I’m wondering if that was enough to keep my account information from being compromised. Any suggestions on what I should do?

  2. enrique on January 15th, 2010 9:56 am

    Changing your Google password was definitely the right thing to do, I can’t think of anything else. Maybe just check your Gmail “Sent” items to see if they did anything with your account.

Leave a Reply