WorldPay Fake Emails

Another fake email, this time claiming to be from WorldPay. The body of the email makes you think you’ve paid for something, and since you surely haven’t you’ll be suspicious enough to open the attachment hoping to find more information.

The attachement is a zip file, disguised as something else. The attachment’s filename is WorldPay_CARD_Transaction_Confirmation_OrderNo76621.doc.zip - this is an old trick of using two extensions at the end. .doc is usually a Word document, but the real extension is the last one, in this case .zip. A zip file can contain programs (.exe) such as malware. So always look at the last bit of the extension (.zip) when deciding whether or not to open the attachment.

Below is an extract of the email:

Thank you!

Your transaction has been processed by WorldPay, on behalf of Academic Resources Center Inc. 

The invoice file is attached to this message.

This is not a tax receipt.

We processed your payment. 

Academic Resources Center Inc has received your order, and will inform you about delivery. 

Sincerely,

The AcaDemon Team

Enquiries

This confirmation only indicates that your transaction has been processed successfully. It does not indicate that your order has been accepted. It is the responsibility of Academic Resources Center Inc to confirm that your order has been accepted, and to deliver any goods or services you have ordered.

Fake eNom emails

Below are two fake emails claiming to be from eNom (a domain name and web hosting provider). The emails are worded such that they sound technical and that they require immediate action.

Both emails contain a link you’re supposed to click on, however if you examine the link closely you’ll see they actually point to someone else’s site. This is sneaky and you really need to be aware how to distinguish real links from malicious ones like these.

In this case the link is displayed as: http://www.enom.com - but if you place the mouse pointer over the link and wait a second, you’ll see the real link displayed (depending on which browse and email client you’re using). In this case the link really points to httpz: // w ww.enom.com.com92. _biz  - See what they did there? They added a few characters to the end. This is enough to make it point to a completely different site. Even though is has part of eNom’s address in there, it’s different. (Note that I broke up the URL to stop you from accidently clicking on it).

The second email is similar, it really points to h ttp :/ / www. enom. comcom94._com - Again this is different, even though it has part of eNom’s address. Even one letter or number is enough to make it go somewhere else. (Again I broke up the address to stop you clicking on it).

How can they do this? Unfortunately at this time nobody stops scammers registering an address that is very similar to a legitimate address. It’s up to you to take care what you click on.

Another couple of tips to protect you from these tactics:

Below are the two emails. I’m putting them here so that people can search Google and get to this page to learn what they really are.

Email 1:

Dear eNom Customer, 

Starting at 1 AM PT on Saturday, November 1st, 2008 until 4 AM PT, we will be conducting maintenance on our database and datacenter resulting in the following sites and services being unavailable: 

* Main site 

* All web hosting services 

* Email services 

* Communication with the registry affecting new registrations, renewals, and transfers 

For access your account follow this link - http://www.enom.com 

The following services will not be affected and will continue to be fully operational: 

* DNS will resolve normally - although operational through this downtime, any changes to DNS settings may be delayed intermittently for a period of up to 24 hours from the start of the maintenance period 

* Email forwarding and site redirection will operate normally 

We anticipate the maintenance will only last up to 3 hours. We apologize for any inconvenience during this short maintenance and thank you for your patience. 

Sincerely, 

eNom Tech Support

Second email:

Dear eNom Customer, 

Starting at 1 AM PT on Saturday, November 1st, 2008 until 4 AM PT, we will be conducting maintenance on our database and datacenter resulting in the following sites and services being unavailable: 

* Main site 

* All web hosting services 

* Email services 

* Communication with the registry affecting new registrations, renewals, and transfers 

For access your account follow this link - http://www.enom.com 

The following services will not be affected and will continue to be fully operational: 

* DNS will resolve normally - although operational through this downtime, any changes to DNS settings may be delayed intermittently for a period of up to 24 hours from the start of the maintenance period 

* Email forwarding and site redirection will operate normally 

We anticipate the maintenance will only last up to 3 hours. We apologize for any inconvenience during this short maintenance and thank you for your patience. 

Sincerely, 

eNom Tech Support

Is WPA Still Secure?

There was a media announcement recently from a Russian company called Elcomsoft claiming to be able to crack WPA encryption. What’s this about and how does it affect you?

WPA is the preferred encryption for wireless networks, the kind you probably have at home or in the office. Here’s a quick recap of where WPA fits in:

So what did Elcomsoft do?
They developed a way to speed up the time it takes to crack WPA and  WPA2 encryption. Here’s a short summary:

In other words the article is mostly hype. Making something 100 faster doesn’t mean much when we’re talking about trillions of years.

The short version is: use WPA/WPA2 and a long password when configuring your wireless network. Use at least 20 characters.

Further:
What I’ve written above applies to small networks such as home or small offices. For large networks you should be using a technology called Radius together with WPA, this is much more secure, extremely hard to crack, and of course more complicated and expensive to install and maintain.

Asus Eee Box PC comes with a virus

Asus usually makes good computers but they messed up with this one. Their new PC, called the Asus Eee Box PC, has been shipping in Japan with a virus called “recycled.exe”. The virus copies itself to removable drives (such as USB flash drives) and attempts to download more malware when it’s connected to the internet.

Only the ones sold in Japan have been affected. Asus have recalled the computers and are fixing the problem. If you bought one already then scan it for viruses.

False Microsoft Patch Emails

Tuesdays are when Microsoft publishes patches to their software, and today they’ve published quite a few (if you use Windows then you should be installing the patches today). 

However today there’s a malicious email being sent around that looks like it came from Microsoft (it’s actually fake). The email tells people about the patches and has a file attached. 

The attachment isn’t really a Microsoft update, it’s actually a trojan that installs something on your PC that lets hackers log into it, without you ever finding out. You really don’t want this kind of thing installed on your PC.

The email has a few features designed to convince people that it’s genuine, such as a PGP signature at the end, and the fake sender address.

The subject of the email is:

Security Update for OS Microsoft Windows

If you see this just delete it. You should also have a good spam filter for your inbox - email services such as Gmail do a good job of this. For businesses it’s a little more complicated and even more important. You should also invest in a good antivirus package, one that checks everything and downloads updates at least once a day.

And remember to never trust attachments you unexpectadly receive(you didn’t ask Microsoft to send you an attachment, so why would they really do this?)

ClickJacking Exploit

A rather serious exploit has recently been discovered.

It’s called ClickJacking. The problem is in Adobe’s Flash player, which just about everyone in the world has installed (sometimes without even knowing it). 

The vulnerability makes it possible for someone to control your computer’s webcam or microphone, lettting other people spy on you. It’s a serious problem.

Who’s at risk?

Anyone who has Flash version 9.0.124.0 or earlier is at risk. This includes Windows, Mac, and Linux users, and FireFox, IE, Safari, Chrome, and Opera users (does this list include you?)

What can you do to protect yourself?

Adobe is publishing a fix very soon and the best thing to do is to upgrade to the latest version of  Flash. Flash should prompt you to download an update - say yes to this. Otherwise download the latest version from Adobe’s web site.

If for some reason you can’t update Flash on your PC there’s another way to protect yourself (this is a last resort tactic, updating Flash is much safer). The workaround is to set the Always Deny option, as detailed here on Adobe’s site.

Further info:

Someone has gone to the trouble of setting up a sample of how the exploit works and recorded a video to demonstrate. Play the YouTube video in this article.

Skype in China

People in China using Skype, or people elsewhere using Skype to talk to people in China, should be aware that some conversations are being monitored by the Chinese government. This article explains how this was recently exposed.

The system listens for sensitive terms (mostly political subjects) and logs conversations that meet this requirement. This works differently to how the Germans are doing it.